What’s on my Face? | Make up Haul

What’s on my Face? | Make up Haul

Hello gorgeous readers! This weeks post is a simple everyday make up look. I’m going to give you a little glimpse into what’s in my make up bag this season. This time it’s mostly drug-store products, along with a couple of old faithfuls from slightly pricer brands. Let’s get into it. 

 


Base

As most of you know, i’m a poor student, so buying high end every time isn’t really an option. I’ve gone for mostly mid-range beauty bits in this haul, featuring products which will look amazing without breaking the bank! I have always had issues with acne and so it’s especially important that I take care of my skin when it’s acting up. Cleanse and moisturise… You know the drill. First up, I picked up this No 7 ‘Airbrush Away’ primer a couple of months ago. It is pore minimising and completely mattifying, giving your skin that velvet finish, allowing your make-up to glide on smoothly! Like Porefessional by Benefit, but a little cheaper (and usually on a 3 for 2 deal in Boots).


Because of my generally bad skin I need to use products which a mid-to-full coverage  (usually something like Mac’s Studio Fix/Sculpt). Recently I picked up this foundation by L’oréal. It’s their Infallible 24hr Matte base in shade 11, vanilla. This product is amazing. The colour is a perfect match and doesn’t come off too yellow toned, perfect for my pale complexion! It’s v high coverage and really reminds me of MAC’s studio sculpt, but thankfully for my student budget, it’s half the price!

Next, something a little more pricey. To combat any blemishes i’ve returned to my trusty ‘boi-ing’ by Benefit. This is a pretty heavy duty concealer and it really works. The consistency is perfect for targeting breakouts, hiding those nasty red spots without looking cakey. This product also has healing properties so works to visibly reduce inflammation throughout the day. It’s a little more expensive, but it really works and still cheaper than its high-end counterparts e.g. Laura Mercier ‘Secret Camouflage’. I picked this up in shade 01.

 

Finally, I picked up a couple of No 7 goodies: it was three for two after all! I’ve got the Perfect Light pressed powder in Translucent. A handy compact which works to reduce shine and hold that base in place all day long. As well as this I picked up a cheaper bronze/highlight duo. This was an act of necessity as I touched pan on my Charlotte Tilbury ‘Bronze and Glow’ this week. To prolong wee Charlotte’s shelf life, I decided to grab this dupe for everyday use, and I love it! The product comes in a similarly gorgeous rose gold compact. The bronze is extremely warmed toned and looks natural/not too shimmery. I may actually prefer the bronzing portion to B&G, and that’s saying something!! (less than half the price!)

Eyes

Next up it’s eyes/eye brows… For my lids i’ve gone back to L’Oréal and their gorgeous nude eye palletes. This one is from the Colour Riche range in the shade ‘Les Ombres’. These warm and shimmery shades make for the perfect, warm, every day eye look. I find myself coming up with dozens of looks just using these shades. Gorgeous neutrals that can be amped up with the application of defined eye-liner.

Liner wise, I always go for a felt tip applicator. This mechanism allows for a more precise application, allowing me to create the perfect cat eye time and time again. This one is No 7 ‘Stay Precise’ in blackest black. I follow this up with No 7’s Velvet Lash mascara in the same shade. (I promise i’m not sponsored, just can’t resist a bargain!)

Lastly, it’s brows. This is my favourite Benefit product, their Browzings kit in ‘light’. The kit comes with two applicators, tweezers and of course the brow colour itself. I first apply the wax to carve out that perfect brow arch, then fill in the gaps with the soft powder. I used to use (abuse) this product when I first started using make up, and I have to say, less is more with this ladies. BUT if you want to achieve that perfect Lily Collin’s brow definition, this is the way to do it.

Lips

Last but not least, on the lips it’s got to be my old faithful – Twig by Mac (which I have written about before). The perfect colour compliment for a more neutral ‘every day’ look.

 

So, that’s it – my everyday face! Let me know what you think/if you think there’s any other products I should try out!

KJ xoxo

Leave a Reply

